GEOGRAPHY TEST #16

1. NAME THE COUNTRY IN SUBSAHARAN AFRICA THAT HAS TWO CAPITALS-THE TRADITIONAL CAPITAL AT LOBAMBA AND THE ADMINISTRATIVE CAPITAL AT MBABANE.

ANSWER: SWAZILAND

2. TAIWAN, THE ISLAND-STATE FOR THE REPUBLIC OF CHINA (ROC), WAS FORMERLY KNOWN BY THIS ISLAND NAME.

ANSWER: ISLAND OF FORMOSA

3. ANTARCTICA, ONE OF THE SEVEN CONTINENTS OF THE WORLD, IS GOVERNED BY WHAT INTERNATIONAL TREATY SIGNED ON DECEMBER 1, 1959.

ANSW<u>ER</u>: THE ANTARCTICA TREATY SYSTEM (ATS). CURRENTLY, SEVEN COUNTRIES HAVE MADE CLAIMS TO ANTARCTICA.

4. THE CITY OF MACAU IS AN AUTONOMOUS REGION OF WHICH COUNTRY TODAY? UNTIL 1999, IT WAS A TERRITORY UNDER THE CONTROL OF PORTUGAL.

ANSWER: PEOPLE'S REPULIC OF CHINA (PRC)

5. NAME THE CAPITAL OF THE FOLLOWING COUNTRIES-

<u>ANSWER</u>: GRENADA-ST. GEORGE'S; ANDORRA-ANDORRA LA VELLA; NIGER-NIAMEY; MALAWI-LILONGWE, AND TIMOR-LESTE-DILI.

- 6. IN WHICH COUNTRY WOULD YOU FIND THE FOLLOWING HISTORICAL/CULTURAL SITES-<u>ANSWER</u>: KRONBORG CASTLE-DENMARK; ULURU NATIONAL PARK-AUSTRALIA; PANTANAL-BRAZIL; LESHAN GIANT BUDDHA-CHINA (PRC); AND HATRA-IRAQ.
- 7. ZIMBABWE WAS KNOWN BY THIS COUNTRY NAME UNTIL IT GAINED ITS INDEPENDENCE IN 1980.

ANSWER: RHODESIA

- 8. THE MAGNETIC NORTH POLE IS LOCATED IN WHICH COUNTRY? BE SPECIFIC. ANSWER: ELLESMERE ISLAND, CANADA
- 9. NAME THE THREE LARGEST MOUNTAIN RANGES IN THE U.S IN DESCENDING ORDER ANSWER: ROCKY MOUNTAINS; APPALACHIAN MOUNTAINS; AND SIERRA NEVADA MOUNTAINS.
- 10. WHERE IS THE ISLAND OF NEW GUINEA LOCATED? BE SPECIFIC. NAME THE TWO COUNTRIES THAT COMPRISES THE ISLAND.

ANSWER: NEW GUINEA IS AN ISLAND OFF THE COAST OF AUSTRALIA SEPARTED BY THE TORRES STRAIT. THE WESTERN PART OF THE ISLAND BELONGS TO INDONESIA, AND IS KNOWN AS WESTERN NEW GUINEA OR WEST PAPUA. THE COUNTRY OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA IS ON THE EAST PART OF THE ISLAND.